How to become Oathbreaker in Baldurs Gate 3 – What happens when Paladins break their Oath

Oathbreaker Paladin in Baldur's Gate 3

Have you been looking for a way to become Oathbreaker Paladin in Baldur’s Gate 3? We’ll explain everything that you need to know.

In Baldur’s Gate 3, characters of the Paladin class have to carefully choose their Oath. As holy knights of myth and legend, their goal is to follow their oaths and be true to their convictions. Moral choices matter to Paladins more than arguably any other class in the game. But when a Paladin falls away from their path, they can suffer a tangible loss and be branded Oathbreaker. If you want to play as a Paladin who’s fallen from grace, keep reading.

How to become an Oathbreaker in Baldur’s Gate 3?

When you play as a Paladin in Baldur’s Gate 3, you will be faced with challenges during interactions that will challenge your chosen Oath. If you succumb to temptation and go against your Oath, you will become an Oathbreaker. 

Mechanically speaking, you will exchange your subclass abilities by unlocking new sinister ones. These abilities reflect your newfound nature as an Oathbreaker, veering more in the direction of malicious and hurtful. So something more akin to a black knight archetype. 

What are Oathbreaker subclass abilities?

When you turn into an Oathbreaker, your subclass abilities will be replaced with new ones. Here’s a list of all the abilities you get:

  • Level 1 – Spiteful Suffering (Action): The target takes 1d4+3 Necrotic damage each turn and Attack Rolls against it have Advantage.
  • Level 3 – Control Undead (Action): Use the power of your Oath to gain control over an undead creature. The undead will follow you around and attack your enemies.
  • Level 3 – Dreadful Aspect (Action): Let your darkest emotions burst forth as a menacing pulse to Frighten nearby enemies.
  • Level 3 – Hellish Rebuke (Oath Spells): The next time you take damage, you use your reaction to surround your attacker in hellish flames.Delayed 2d10 Fire damage. On Save, target still takes half damage
  • Level 3 – Inflict Wounds (Oath Spells): Putrify a creature with the necrotic energy filling your hands. 3d10 Necrotic damage.
  • Level 5 – Crown of Madness (Oath Spells): Instil madness in a humanoid enemy, making them attack the creature closest to them (other than you), even if it’s allied. Lasts 3 turns.
  • Level 5 – Darkness (Oath Spells): Create a cloud of magical darkness that Heavily Obscures and Blinds creatures within. Creatures cannot make ranged attacks into or out of it.
  • Level 7 – Aura of Hate (Subclass Feature): You and any nearby fiends (and undead) gain an additional damage dealt with melee weapons equal to your charisma modifier. The aura disappears if you fall Unconscious.
  • Level 9 – Bestow Curse (Oath Spells): Curse a creature with your touch. The curse either bestows Disadvantage on checks and Saving Throws or attacks, lets you deal additional damage to the target, or robs it of its actions.
  • Level 9 – Animate Dead (Oath Spells): Create an undead servant (Zombie or Skeleton) from a corpse.

Can you regain your Oath and stop being an Oathbreaker?

Yes, you can reclaim your old Oath at any time in your Camp. You have to talk to the Oathbreaker Knight NPC and ask him to restore your Oath. This action comes at a cost of 1000 Gold pieces.

Even if you regain your old Oath, you can become an Oathbreaker again by going against the Oath, just like you did previously. If that’s not something that you want to do, you’ll have to be more conscious of your Paladin duties and convictions during interactions.

Check out our other Baldur’s Gate 3 guides, like Can You Change Your Character’s Appearance in Baldur’s Gate 3 and How long does it take to complete Baldur’s Gate 3.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *