How to Get Ogerpon in the Teal Mask – Pokemon Scarlet and Violet DLC

image showing a pokemon trainer with their pokemon out against the Ogerpon in Pokemon Scarlet and Violet DLC.

Pokémon games, including Pokémon Scarlet and Violet, always revolve around one main goal: catching the strongest and rarest Pokémon available to capture. In Pokémon Scarlet and Violet, Ogerpon is a legendary catchable Pokémon that is up for grabs for the players in the DLC, The Teal Mask. However, since it’s not easy to beat this legendary Pokémon, we’re here to guide you. Read on to find out how to get Ogerpon in the Teal Mask in Pokemon Scarlet and Violet DLC!

How to Get the Ogerpon in Pokémon Scarlet and Violet DLC

Ogerpon only reveals itself as a capturable Pokémon once you defeat the Loyal Three and retrieve its stolen masks. After collecting all three masks, you have the chance to battle Ogerpon and subsequently capture it. The battle takes place in four stages, and only after defeating all four stages will you be able to capture Ogerpon with a Pokeball.

Even though Ogerpon is a Legendary rarity Pokémon, the quest to capture it is fairly simple. You might need some hard-hitting Pokémon in your arsenal to take it down, but it’s doable if you have the skill. A good lineup, alongside a bit of prior information, can increase your chances of getting the legendary Pokémon.

Now, you might be wondering that if there’s only one Pokémon, why do you need to defeat it in four stages? Let’s talk about how the battle ensues.

Pokemon Official & Premium Quality 8-Inch Pikachu – Adorable, Ultra-Soft, Plush Toy, Perfect for Playing & Displaying – Gotta Catch “˜Em All , Yellow
  • Cute and cuddly 8″ Plush stuffed Pikachu is a must have for all Pokémon fans!
  • This Super soft plush figure is great to take wherever you go!
  • Makes a great gift for fans of Pokémon – your favorite Pokémon character is waiting for you!
  • Officially licensed Pokémon merchandise by the Pokémon Company. Measures: 10″ To top of ear. Ages: 2+

The Four Stages of Ogerpon

We mentioned that Ogerpon only reveals itself after you retrieve the three stolen masks and bring them back to him. When you’re battling Ogerpon, there are four stages, each corresponding to a different mask.

  • The Teal Mask: Grass (Weak to Fire, Ice, Flying, Poison, and Bug).
  • The Hearthflame Mask: Fire (Weak to Water, Ground, and Rock).
  • The Wellspring Mask: Water (Weak to Grass and Electric).
  • The Cornerstone Mask: Rock (Weak to Water, Grass, Ground, Fighting, and Steel).

This means that you need to have Pokémon of several different types to beat Ogerpon. You should also note that these fights are consecutive, meaning there’s no stopping in between fights. On top of that, Ogerpon heals to full after each fight, so make sure to sustain your health otherwise, you’ll be wiped out.

Only after defeating all four forms of Ogerpon can he be captured. That is how to get Ogerpon in Pokemon Scarlet and Violet DLC, however how do you change its mask to teal?

Changing Ogerpon’s Forms

A lot of players wonder whether they can utilize Ogerpon’s different forms in their battles; fortunately, they can. When you use Ogerpon after capturing it, you’ll be able to switch the masks for Ogerpon to give him different properties. To change forms, just give him the mask of the form you want to use, and for the basic form, remove the mask entirely. 

However, make sure you read up on the changes within each form because Ogerpon’s stats and abilities also change depending on the form he’s in. This is especially true for Ogerpon’s unique ability, Embody Aspect, which boosts one of Ogerpon’s stats (depending on the current form of Ogerpon). Moreover, his signature move, Ivy Cudgel, also changes to adjust to the change in form.

For more guides and information on Pokémon Scarlet and Violet DLC, check out these related articles from our team: Will Pokémon Scarlet and Violet DLC Be Free and What Level To Start The Teal Mask DLC – Pokémon Scarlet and Violet.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *