Quite a few months back, we made an article which gave details on a supposed sale of a Durango alpha tower. The seller, known as DaE, put the alpha tower up on eBay.
But after some time, DaE has put another tower back up on eBay yet again. Listing some of the details of the specs - with the message on his twitter "Last chance to own a piece of next-gen gaming history!"
http://www.ebay.com/itm/ws/...
some sucker on ebay bought it for 20,100.00
i can use 20,000.00 about now.
I smell a s.c.a.m.
What does that spell kids? Scam!!
The guy who sold it will ironically use that money for a 4K TV and a PS4 lol.
If this were a dev kit it would actually belong to MS, so selling it would be theft and be prosecutable. Basically with dev kits you are only leasing them, however the software and hardware belong to the respective console holders.
If this were an actual dev kit, which it isn't, the only reason I can see someone wanting it is to get information on what will be in the next Xbox, or possibly some weird collector thing maybe. The latter would be more likely, particularly since information like that could drive a lot of hits to a site, although I doubt it would be worth that much to the bigger sites, and the smaller sites aren't likely to be able to afford it. Or people may actually think they can use it to make games, or possibly some hacker...but good hackers tend to be smarter than buying a fake dev kit.:)
This guys is going to take that 20k and pull the money from his paypal straight to his bank account and close his ebay/paypal acc's for some easy money.
Oops no it's just my PC.
Edit: Ok I get it. It's the programing tools that would cause trouble if sold. I doubt he would stupid enough to do that.