Top
440°

Toshiba announces press conferences, expected to end HD DVD

Japanese news website Nikke.net reports that Toshiba has scheduled a press conference for 5PM Tokyo time (12AM PST) on Tuesday.

According to the well-respected Nikkei financial newspaper (see Alternative Sources,) Toshiba will announce an immediate withdrawal from its HD DVD business. Toshiba will cease all development, production and sales of HD DVD players -- effective immediately.

Toshiba president Atsutoshi Nishida would make the announcement, the Japanese newspaper said.

Read Full Story >>
bluray.highdefdigest.com
The story is too old to be commented.
gamesblow3078d ago

Pour one for our homie...

akaFullMetal3078d ago

u must mean homies, everybody who bougth hd-dvd is going to be disappointed, we should all hold a moment of silence for hd-dvd.

ChefDejon3078d ago

is that in 2 hours eastren time

pwnsause3078d ago

announcement at 3am EST. i'll stay up for that.

Kenshin_BATT0USAI3078d ago

I got school tmr, ( Waterloo math contest as well) SO its either all-nighter or I don't see this. I guess I will pull all-nighter since this would be a very nice bit of info on my technology essay (about advancements in media tech, that is)

mikeslemonade3078d ago

Yep this calls for a celebration. All those Bladestar, Power of Green, and Bloodmask theories were wrong, and yet two of the three still continue to post more theories about how 360 will be the best and sell the most.

OmegaKulu3078d ago

Could this be it? The final moment? Hope we can finally watch all the movies on one single format.

xplosneer3078d ago

Above: you disagree with each other. Which is it?

grashopper3078d ago

12:00AM Pacific 3:00AM Eastern if your in a unimportant area in the middle you have to figure it out :)

Tru_Blu3078d ago

2 AM Central, that other one is the unimportant one.

aiphanes3078d ago

That right Texas is the center of the world and its in Central Time!

pwnsause3078d ago

lol what do you mean unimportant NYC FTW!

bosels113078d ago

Hey 4.3 and 4.6 - thats right 3rd times a charm TEXAS!

deeznuts3078d ago

I am from California but I lol'd. I actually really like texas. Big steaks, BBQ what's not to like? I get my bbq rub from there for my ribs and briskets.

Foxx773078d ago

That unimportant time zone known as Mountain Time where I'm at ... hooray! ;)

+ Show (6) more repliesLast reply 3078d ago
Show all comments (32)
The story is too old to be commented.